To all Chicago non police residence there is no longer gun registration in Chicago. How ever this new law is unconstitutional and very restrictive.
On July 9, 2013, Public Act 98-63, the Firearm Concealed Carry Act, became state law (430 ILCS 66). You may view the full text of the law at: http://www.ilga.gov/legislation/publicacts/98/PDF/098-0063.pdf
The Illinois State Police ("ISP") is in charge of implementing this law. The ISP has a webpage dedicated to this topic with common questions and aswers. They are the autority on this topic. You can view it here: http://www.isp.state.il.us/firearms/ccw/ccw-faq.cfm
If you see a class already advertised for Illinois Concealed Carry, consider this section in the law:
Section 80. Firearms instructor training.
(b) A person who is not a certified firearms instructor shall not teach applicant training courses or advertise or otherwise represent courses they teach as qualifying their students to meet the requirements to receive a license under this Act. Each violation of this subsection is a business offense with a fine of at least $1,000 per violation.
Since no one has been certified as an Illinois CCW Firearms Instructor by ISP yet, it is technically illegal to advertise an "Illinois Concealed Carry Class".
The below information was written up and posted by us on 03/21/2013, before any law was passed and at the time when competing bills were floating around. The below assesment is not longer relevant, but has been preserved for historical and reference purposes. Refer to the top of this page for the most current and up to date info.
The Illinois concealed carry law has not been passed yet! News flash... Do yourself a favor and do not fall for unscrupulous and unethical instructors who are offering you an Illinois concealed carry class right now. Such a class does not exist yet. The seventh circuit court made it perfectly clear that the current prohibition on concealed carry in Illinois is unconstitutional. The court stayed its order for 180 days thus giving the Illinois General Assembly until June 9th 2013 to come up with an Illinois concealed carry law/bill. If no concealed carry law is passed, the court is likely to permit concealed carry without a law: in other words we could have constitutional carry.
The bill in front of the State of Illinois Legislative Assembly has undergone a dozen changes and will undergo a dozen more before the final Illinois concealed carry law is finalized and passed. These changes will incorporate instructor qualifications and registries with the Illinois State Police as well as student class requirements. Furthermore, the State of Illinois Concealed Carry law might require that all training be effective after the Illinois concealed carry law has passed.
I know what you are thinking: It is very reasonable to assume that the 8 hour NRA Basic pistol class will be the foundation to qualify for the Illinois concealed carry license/permit, once it passes. It is easy to make that assumption because the 8 hour NRA Basic Pistol class qualifies you for most other concealed carry permits/licenses in the Nation and it is listed as one of the proposed student requirements in HB0997. DON'T TAKE THAT CHANCE!! The current Illinois Concealed Carry bill already has specific range (live-fire) qualifications that are different from the typical 8 hour NRA Basic Pistol class. Furthermore lawmakers have changed the range (live-fire) qualifications multiple times already.
The Illinois concealed carry class is likely to have specific examination requirements during classroom portion and discussions on the use of deadly force as they pertain to the laws of the State of Illinois.
However, there is something you should be doing to prepare for Illinois concealed carry. You absolutely must obtain a non-resident permit from Florida, Arizona or Utah. In the proposed legislation (amended HB0997) there is language that states the following: "Any Illinois resident who has a license or permit to carry a handgun issued by another state shall be able to carry a handgun in accordance with this Act using that license for 365 days following the effective date of this Act." This means that you would be able to carry concealed in Illinois on the date when the bill becomes law for 1 year. Avoid the initial onslaught of applications to the Illinois State Police and price gouging.
In addition, having a non resident permit will allow you to carry in other states since it may also take a while for Illinois State Police to enter into reciprocity agreements with other states.
We recommend Utah + Arizona permit combination due to the coverage they provide and the low costs both states charge to process the applications. Florida permit is recommended if you travel to Florida.
I am disgusted with the instructors and companies misrepresenting to the hard-working people of Illinois their classes by implying that you can take a class now and it would satisfy Illinois concealed carry requirements. If you are one of those people who paid for a class already, call those companies and instructors back and demand a refund!
Feel free to call or email Illinois Concealed Carry, LLC. if you have additional questions about this topic. And please keep us in mind for all your firearm and concealed carry training needs.